National Football Foundation South Jersey Chapter Wins National Honor | High School Live

“It’s huge and very important for South Jersey,” Gatley said. “Coming out of the COVID year, that’s really, really important. Being recognized nationally is very, very special.

The chapter recently created an NFFSJ Player of the Week website, and membership has continued to grow each year.

The chapter also awards a College Player of the Year (for each division) and the Contribution to Amateur Football award. Twenty-four athletes have won the Scholar Athlete Awards for the 2020-21 season.

The chapter hosts a college night where players and parents can meet with coaches and college representatives to learn more about each school and program. The chapter does a lot to try to ensure that every athlete can continue their training.

“I’m just so proud of the commitment of our entire executive committee to recognizing college-athletes and their honorees,” Gatley said.

The NFFSJ executive committee all have specific responsibilities and the reason for success, Gatley said.

The committee includes Henry J. Wimberg (Official), Michael McGhee (Principal of Oakcrest High School), David Bennett (Athletic Director of Oakcrest), Dave LaGamba (Athletic Director of Millville), Ted D’Alessio (Athletic Director at retired from Millburn High School), Geoff Haines (Athletic Director of Ocean City), Chuck Donohue (Regional Athletic Director of the South), Jay Accorsi (Coach of Rowan University), Tony Surace (Former Athletic Director and Coach of Millville ), Bill Shaughnessy (former Millville coach), Ed Andrews (former Millville coach and teacher) and John Pierantozzi (recently deceased and former Vineland official, teacher and coach).

Carol C. Reed